Archive 2010/2011
ECC Tournament Finals Day

The much delayed ECC Tournament Finals Day will now take place on Sunday 3rd July at the Earlestown Conservative Club. The Final will commence at 7:00pm and will be officiated by EASB Referee John Twist.


Wayne Brown has qualified for the final and will meet the winner of the second semi-final between Craig Steadman and Stephen Rowlings. This match will take place at 1:00pm on Saturday 2nd July.


Semi-Final and Final are best of 9 frames and some excellent snooker will be in store.


Non-members are welcome.


I realise that Warrington Wolves play their semi final this Thursday and that many people would like to go.

If you are planning to re-arrange your game could you please let me know by text or e-mail so that I am not waiting for a result that will not happen.

Dates for next season

Please note the following dates up to the start of next season:


·         Annual General Meeting Wednesday 15th June 2011

·         Presentation Evening Saturday 25th June 2011

·         Registration Meeting Monday 1st August 2011

·         Pre Season Meeting Monday 5th September 2011

·         Season Start Wednesday/Thursday 14th or 15th September 2011

Player of the Year

Alan Taylor from Irlam Cons defeated John Warren from Richmonds in a play off for the Division One Player of the Year. While this was taking place the match between James Frith from G.E.S.M. "C" and Kevin Smith from Monks "C" saw a win for Kevin Smith who then went on to beat Alan Taylor in the final to become overall Player of the Year.  

Remarkable Double-Century Gives Wayne Individual Merit Title

The Warrington Individual Merit competition is the flagship of the snooker league as it identifies the best player in the league. Thursday night’s final between Wayne Brown and Scott Wall lived right up to that billing with a match of the highest quality.

It was Scott who started of confidently hitting a break of 49 to take the first frame and continued to play solid snooker, scoring well and starving Wayne of chances to take the second and a 2-0 lead. Wayne started well in the third with an extraordinary shot potting red, splitting the pack wide open whilst screwing gently onto the black, however when he managed just 15 off that opening and left Scott in the middle of the reds a surprising 3-0 win looked on the cards. Unluckily though Scott ended tight up on a red and could only play safe, soon after Wayne potted an outrageous red into to corner pocket and with the balls in an extremely difficult position proceeded to clear the table for a break of 107, one of the finest centuries ever seen. With his confidence swelled Wayne scored consistently in the fourth to pull back to 2-2. The best came till last when after some opening jousting Wayne proceeded to again clear the table with another century break, a 111 to give him a 3-2 victory. An excellent final that will be talked about for years.

Final Update

Congratulations to Irlam Cons, GESM 'B' and Kings Club 'A' for winning divisions 1, 2 and 3 respectively. The season came to a great climax with Both Irlam and GESM on the night beating the second place teams Richmonds and Penketh Tavern 'A' 5-2 and 6-1. Kings Club 'A' finishing the season with a 6-1 win at Monks 'D'.

Further congratulations for a great season to Irlam Cons who also won both the Team Championship and the Team Handicap, a tremendous treble.


Division 1 - Champions Irlam Cons, Runner-Up Irlam Catholic. Relegated Monks 'A', British Rail and Alford 'D' based on head to head results with GESM 'A'.

Division 2 - Champions GESM 'B', Runners-Up Penketh Tavern, 3rd Place GTBL 'B'. Relegated Alford 'B', Rylands 'B' and Deaf Social 'A'

Division 3 - Champions Kings Club 'A', Runners-Up Kings Club 'C', 3rd Place St Josephs.

Player of Year/Highest Breaks

Division 1 Player of Year - Alan Taylor (Irlam Catholic) and John Warren (Richmonds) tied on 20 wins.

Division 2 Player of Year - James Frith (GESM 'C') with 19 wins.

Division 3 Player of Year - Kevin Smith (Monks 'C') with 22 wins.

Division 1 Highest Break - James Short (Irlam Cons) - 96

Division 2 Highest Break - James Frith (GESM 'C') - 67

Division 3 Highest Break - Darren Haughton (St Josephs) - 39